If you clicked on the link in the recent phishing message sent the week of October 19, or you suspect you may have clicked on it, we STRONGLY recommend following these instructions ASAP to reset your computer. This will purge any malware potentially installed as a result of clicking the link.
The first step is save a copy of your bitlocker key (assuming your hard drive is encrypted). If you do not save your bitlocker key and need it later, your computer and the data on it could be irrecoverable. Instructions on how to do that can be found here:
Find Your Bitlocker Key
Next, follow these instructions from Microsoft to Reset Your PC. This process may take 20 minutes up to 2 hours. Choose the option for Keep my files.
After the reset process is complete, logon to your computer and change your Windows logon password.
After that, please visit Bucknell Account Management and change your Bucknell password.
Finally, we strongly advise you change any password you entered on that computer, especially:
-
All banking, finance, and shopping passwords
-
All social media accounts
-
All email and productivity accounts
- Anything else you really care about
Why do we recommend you do all these steps?
The phishing email from the week of October 19 automatically installed multiple screen view and screen recording applications on your Windows computer. This means that bad actors can see every thing you type, including passwords, account numbers, social security numbers, and everything else you did while the software was installed. The bad actors have been recording every single thing you did since you clicked the link in the phishing email. You need to remove the software (NOT EASY!) and reset all your passwords to prevent the bad actors from continuing to monitor your computer and accessing all your accounts.
If you clicked the link on a Bucknell owned computer, bring the computer to the Tech Desk immediately.